Les Kata, the other art of judo

While most people think of judo as just a confrontation between two fighters where the objective is to put your opponent on his back, this is not the only way to practice the sport. Kata are a way of perfecting the techniques of judo.

A codified art

The openings of the kata

In kata, Tori performs the movements and Uke receives the throws. Before starting, both opponents must go through a greeting procedure by the judges.

For Nage no kata the procedure is as follows:

Tori is to the right of Joseki (the Judges). Uke and Tori are about 5.5 metres apart. Uke and Tori turn towards Joseki and greet him in Ritzu-rei, and turn towards each other.

They descend to the ground (left knee first), toes up, kneel with toes extended and bow to each other in Za-rei (knees 2 fists apart). Uke and Tori stand up and take one step towards each other (left right) to assume Shizentai position. They are now 4 metres apart.

For katame-no-kata, which includes floor movements, the procedure is different

After bowing to the joseki in ritsurei, Uke and Tori kneel face to face for the zarei. They then stand up and take a step towards each other. They kneel again with their left knee on the ground and their right knee raised. This position (taka-kyoshi-no-kamae) is generally called “high kneeling position”.  After bowing to the joseki in ritsurei, Uke and Tori kneel face to face for the zarei. They then stand up and take a step towards each other. They kneel again with their left knee on the ground and their right knee raised. This position (taka-kyoshi-no-kamae) is generally called “high kneeling position”. 

the seven judo katas

The word “kata” means “form”, it consists of codified movements constituting a training exercise for the practice of these movements.

Kata are present in many martial arts, known to the general public especially for karate. But they also exist in aikido and in many non-Japanese martial arts.

In judo, they are seven:

– tame no kata:

Nage no kata are the forms of projection, it contains 5 series of 3 techniques performed to the left and to the right of the tatami. Its demonstration is one of the tests of the examination to obtain the black belt. It is the most common kata, the basic one.

 nage-no-kata pictures

Katame-no-kata must be presented at the 3rd dan. It consists of 15 judo ground techniques divided into 3 series. Each series deals with a different aspect of ground movements. Immobilizations, strangulations and dislocations are the three groups of techniques of this kata.

one of the immobilisation kata
One of the strangulation kata
one of the dislocation kata

-The second is the Kime-no-kata:

It is required for the 4th dan. It is composed of both standing and ground techniques. The first 8 are done standing and the next 12 on the ground. Contrary to the previous kata, this one is oriented on defence and counter-attack. The judoka, Tori, must know how to make the right decisions according to the situation that presents itself to him. For each standing and sitting category, two types are performed, against an unarmed attack and against an armed attack.

juno-kata:

All kata deal with different aspects of judo which is a very complete art. No throws are made, it represents flexibility. Its rhythm is slower and puts into practice the elements of defence by controlling the opponent by elongation. This one is composed of 3 series of 5 techniques.

Go-No-Sen-No-Kata:

Like the Kime-no-Kata, this one is presented during the 4th dan passage. It is divided into 2 series of 6 counter movements. First, movements initiated by the leg and then by the hip.

Goshin-Jitsu-No-Kata:

It is presented at the 3rd dan level and presents different techniques of personal defence against close attacks with fists, feet, knife, stick or gun. It also deals with the various possible aggressions on seizure. Created in 1956, this kata of 21 techniques is the most recent. It is divided into two series, against armed and unarmed attacks.

Koshiki-No-Kata:

This kata is very different from the previous ones, it presents the ancient techniques of samurai self defence. It consists of two series of 14 and 16 techniques respectively. The first series is performed slowly since the fighters are presumed to be wearing armour. The second series is performed rapidly without any downtime. Koshiki-no-kata comes from the Kito school of Jiu Jitsu where Jigoro Kano studied. He incorporated these techniques into his art because he appreciated their teaching.

Itsutsu-No-Kata:

This kata is presented at the 7th dan level. It is composed of 5 series related to the elements of nature, water, earth, fire, air and vacuum. It creates a relationship between the microcosm and the macrocosm, the interior of our body and the universe. For Kano, this kata aims both to explain the principle of maximum efficiency with minimum effort and to represent the movements of the universe. It represents the very heart of Judo. The Kodokan adopted Itsutsu No Kata in 1887. It is the most profound, advanced and philosophical.

Jigoro Kano doing a kata

For information on sport kata competitions in France, see this site.

If you wish to discover a judo master, who performed these kata to obtain his 7th dan, discover our article on Darcel Yandzi.Darcel Yandzi.

Find our judo kimonos and other accessories on our website. Subscribe to our social networks so you don’t miss any news.

Les Kata, l’autre art du judo

Si pour la plupart des gens, le judo ne correspond qu’à un affrontement entre deux combattants où l’objectif est de mettre son adversaire sur le dos, ce n’est en réalité pas la seule façon de pratiquer ce sport. Les kata sont une façon de perfectionner les techniques du judo.

Un art codifié

Les ouvertures du kata

Lors d’un kata il y a Tori qui exécute les mouvements et Uke qui subit les projections. Avant de commencer , les deux adversaires doivent suivre une procédure de salut des juges.

Pour le Nage no kata la procédure est la suivante:

Tori se trouve à la droite de Joseki (les juges).
Uke et Tori sont séparés de 5,5 mètres environ. Uke et Tori se tournent vers le Joseki et le saluent en Ritzu-rei, et se retournent l’un vers l’autre.

Ils descendent au sol (genou gauche d’abord), orteils relevés, s’agenouillent orteils allongés et se saluent en Za-rei (genoux écartés d’une largeur de 2 poings).
Uke et Tori se relèvent et avancent d’un pas l’un vers l’autre (gauche droite) pour prendre la position Shizentai. Ils sont alors à 4 mètres l’un de l’autre.

En ce qui concerne le katame-no-kata qui regroupe des mouvements au sol, la procédure est différente

Après avoir salué le joseki en ritsurei, Uke et Tori s’agenouillent face à face pour le zarei. Ils se relèvent ensuite et avancent d’un pas l’un vers l’autre. Ils s’agenouillent de nouveau en posant le genou gauche au sol et en écartant le genou droit levé. Cette position (taka-kyoshi-no-kamae) est généralement dénommée «position agenouillée haute », Elle est maintenue pendant les déplacements du kata ainsi qu’au début de chaque technique 

Les sept kata du judo

Le mot “kata” signifie “forme”, il s’agit de mouvements codifiés constituant un exercice d’entrainement à la pratique de ces mouvements.

Les kata sont présents dans de nombreux arts martiaux, connu du grand public notamment pour le karaté. Mais ils existent aussi en aïkido et dans de nombreux arts martiaux non japonais.

Au judo, ils sont au nombre de sept:

– tame no kata:

Nage no kata sont les formes de projection, il contient 5 séries de 3 techniques effectuées vers la gauche et vers la droite du tatami. Sa démonstration est une des épreuves de l’examen pour obtenir la ceinture noire. C’est le kata le plus courant, celui de base.

Illustrations des nage-no-kata

Katame-no-kata doit être présenté au passage du 3ème dan. Il se compose de 15 techniques de judo au sol réparties en 3 séries. Chaque série aborde un aspect différent des mouvements au sol. Immobilisations, strangulations et luxations sont les trois groupes de techniques de ce kata.

un des kata d'immobilisation
Un des kata de strangulation
un des kata de luxation
-le deuxième est le Kime-no-kata:

il est exigé lors du passage du 4ème dan. Il est composé à la fois de techniques debout et au sol. Les 8 premières se font debout et les 12 suivantes au sol. Contrairement aux précédents kata celui-ci est orienté sur la défense et la contre-attaque. Le judoka, Tori doit savoir prendre les bonnes décisions en fonction de la situation qui se présente a lui. Pour chaque catégorie debout et assis, deux types sont réalisés, contre une attaque sans arme et contre une attaque armée.

juno-kata:

Tous les kata abordent des aspects différents du judo qui est un art très complet. Aucune projection n’est effectuée, il représente la souplesse. Son rythme est plus lent et met en pratique les éléments de défense en contrôlant l’adversaire par élongation. Celui-ci est composé de 3 séries de 5 techniques.

Go-No-Sen-No-Kata:

Comme le Kime-no-Kata, celui-ci est présenté lors du passage du 4ème dan. Il est divisé en 2 séries de 6 mouvements de contre. D’abord des mouvements enclenchés par la jambe puis par la hanche.

Goshin-Jitsu-No-Kata:

Il est présenté au passage du 3ème dan .Il présente différentes techniques de défense personnelle face à des attaques rapprochées de poings, de pieds, de couteau, de bâton ou de revolver. Il traite aussi des différentes des agressions possibles sur saisie. Crée en 1956, ce kata de 21 techniques est le plus récent. Il est divisé en 2 séries, contre les attaques armées et non armées.

Koshiki-No-Kata:

Ce kata est très différent des précédents, il présente les techniques antiques de self défense des samouraï. Il se compose de deux séries comportant respectivement 14 et 16 techniques. La première série est effectuée lentement puisque les combattants sont présumés porter une armure. La deuxième série s’enchaîne rapidement sans aucun temps d’arrêt. le Koshiki-no-kata provient de l’école de Jiu Jitsu de Kitô où Jigoro Kano a étudié. Il a incorporer ces techniques à son art car il a apprécié leur enseignement.

Itsutsu-No-Kata:

Ce kata est présenté au passage du 7ème dan. Il est composé de 5 séries en rapport avec les éléments de la nature, l’eau, la terre, le feu, l’air et le vide. Il permet de créer une relation entre le microcosme et le macrocosme, l’intérieur de notre corps et l’univers. Pour Kano, ce kata a pour but, à la fois, d’expliquer le principe du maximum d’efficacité pour un minimum d’effort et de représenter les mouvements de l’univers. Il représente le cœur même du Judo.
Le Kodokan adopta l’Itsutsu No Kata en 1887. C’est le plus profond, avancé et philosophique.

Jigoro Kano faisant un kata

Pour toute information sur les compétitions de kata sportif qui se déroulent en France, consultez ce site.

Si vous souhaitez découvrir un maitre du judo, qui a réalisé ces kata pour obtenir son 7ème dan, découvrez notre article sur Darcel Yandzi.

Retrouvez nos kimonos de judo et autres accessoires sur notre site internet. Abonnez vous à nos réseaux sociaux pour ne manquer aucune nouveauté.